Combate Americas will invade Burbank, California, on Thursday, Feb. 16. Headlining the event will be an atomweight showdown between Kyra Batara and Vanessa Rico Fernandez while Erick Sanchez will oppose Andres Quintana in a featherweight co-feature.

Batara, a 4-foot-11 Las Vegas-based grappler, has been on a tear lately, having won all three of her bouts inside the Combate Americas cage. In her most recent outing, Batara scored a second-round TKO of Jenny Silverio, when she trapped her foe in a twister and pounded on her until the referee intervened.

Rico Fernandez, meanwhile, is an eight-time Spanish judo world champion as well as a former freestyle wrestling champ. Though she’s only 2-2 as a pro in mixed martial arts competition, the Spaniard holds two victories via submission.

Aside from the Sanchez-Quintana co-main event, Combate Americas also announced on Tuesday that Erick Gonzalez will take on Danny Ramirez in a lightweight affair while Jose Estrada will stand opposite George Hernandez, also at 155 pounds. Additional matchups, including one featuring Heinrich Wassmer, will be announced shortly.

Combate Americas 11 will take place inside the Burbank Events Center and will be televised live on both Azteca America (10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT) and UFC Fight Pass (8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT).

Comment